Surprise, surprise.

Now there are two types of people: some who set a single alarm and wake up and others who set five and only wake up on the fifth. I’m one of the latter people. On this particular morning the fifth alarm sounded and I was fully conscious, preparing for a coffee and first cigarette of the day. The ritual must be completed.
As soon as I get vertical I received a text message from my manager saying that coming in is pointless as I’d have no work to do, the campaign I’m heading up is not running. In my pre-caffeinated haze I took this as being given a day off but as I woke up the language in the message began to concern me.

The use of ‘if the campaign restarts’ and not ‘when.’ If I’ve learned anything in my life it’s not to wait in these situations. So I may as well start firing off my curriculum vitae or I’ll end up something like this:


My CV has a lot of new additions including managerial responsibilities, recruitment and QC among other things. Should make finding work easier and I should be able to demand a higher wage for my work. Honestly at this point I don’t see how I could work for less. 

Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

