When your employer attempts to mug you off.

I said I would stop talking about work and I promise all of you I will do so but tonight I need a good moan. I appreciate that the title was very British. Sometimes in life things are too good to be true like for example my job. I was quite happy there until today. Until my employers believed I was stupid.

My work place is a changing environment. People come and go, regulations/policy change has happened twice during my time there. However they try to paint it, I’m not stupid, I’ve looked them up. I learned a long time ago that you have to do your research. Never go in completely blind.

Ex-employees have restarted the company and despite the turn over its going quite well. I understand employees have to make small sacrifices in order to ensure the welfare of the company especially at an early stage. I understand from the point of view of the employer.

I don’t appreciate being lied to about the small things but being a misanthrope these lies dominate most of the conversations I’ve had and will ever have. Even if you can see them and they irritate you it would do you no justice to point them out. Let them feel comfortable in their lie. Sometimes you have to.

There is a certain part that bothers me, one in which I find myself disinclined to acquiesce to my employers request. It’s the part where they’re taking an almost illegal punitive measures. They expect me to work outside of my contractual hours without compensation for my time or efforts.

This being illegal. If my contract states this and it doesn’t fall in line with the law of the land then it becomes null and void or at least the clause stating that I should do so. Basically I’m not legally required. Willing or even able to work that hour. Especially not without pay.

I complained about HMRC previously but in this case it was their website where I gained a greater understanding of my rights. I had an idea this wasn’t legal but now I’m backed by law. Dismissing me for refusing to work that extra time is good for an unfair dissmissal tribunal.

This should be a barrel of fun. My colleague is a member of a union who I will consult through him and provide evidence where necessary. I’m about to butt horns with a stagg. It’s a good thing the lion still has claws. I’m prepared to get my way, negotiate if necessary or for zero hour. I have to be thankful, I’ll admit to that, to the state in this case. It will be the first time it has ever worked in my favour. 

I know 80-90% of the company is not on board but just how many are willing to stand up and shout ‘I am Spartacus.’ I bet 70% would across the company. Some are willing to walk out but I’d like if I could solve this without any of my co workers leaving. I like them. It’s just sad that I have a greater picture than people who have been there so long. Maybe a better nose for people’s bullshit.

Like I said I’m willing to be political about this. I’m willing to strike a deal to my advantage or to equal advantage but I’ll obviously push for my best interests and prospects. After all they’re in the wrong. I want to keep the job but I’m not worried about losing it too much. 

I actually enjoyed my job before all this fuckery. Obviously I haven’t revealed the extent of my aresenal in this post. Showing one’s hand is foolish. I’ve only put it out there that I know my rights and this is the general sentiment. If our company is democratic as it should be then we will win. 

I was a part of a walkout today. All of us collectively said ‘fuck that.’ We went home after our day had ended as per our contract. Nobody was staying and my boss didn’t even want to stay. There was some poor attempt at asserting his authority ‘ it starts tomorrow.’ Now, I know the man wants to make a living but I also know he answers to people and the equipment isn’t his.

I’m willing to work with the man if he is willing to be reasonable. Tell my man shut up and let me handle my shit. I’m moving weight at this company. Day 2 of the month and I’m 25% of my target. I like working here and my check hasn’t entered my fucking bank yet but shit when it does. I’m not going to complain. 

That’s the other fuckery… From 7 plus, sometimes during lunch I deal with personal affairs and admin/finance for my home. This 8 o’clock shit isn’t gonna fly unless I get paid. Even if I did capitulate which I won’t, how the fuck am I took cook diner?

Long and ranty like most of my posts….

World wide warranty, satisfaction guarantee so if you aren’t happy just bring it right back to me.

-Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

