And if it isn’t one idiot it’s another.

  
Another idiot, only this time he has a law degree. Now to preface this post: you know the procedure. I won’t name people or institutions involved. Also I’d like to say that partially I understand why they wouldn’t take the case. Risk. Risk that they would lose and have to pay fee. With the circumstances surrounding the case I’m sure they could have won. We work with so many different law firms that we could have just passed her to another had the lawyer not been rude to a 70 year old woman…

The client herself was sharp as a tack and rather well educated. She had been a pleasure to speak too. She even knew how to use a computer which surprised me considering her age, she was what is known as a silver surfer. Her case was pretty clear cut to me. I saw no reason she couldn’t win, even if there had been doubts on one side, the sheer amount of people who had experienced the same thing would have counted towards the case our lawyers were making.

She worked at a hospital, the same hospital she would end up falling down in as a result of the flooring being slippery. By her own account patients and staff had both been injured as a result of this flooring. Now to me it would make sense to spend about £2000 paying out for the flooring to be changed rather than endangering patients and staff by pretending it wasn’t an issue.

In our initial conversation she had told me that a payout wasn’t what she wanted, she wanted the recognition and she wanted something done to ensure the safety of staff and post ops/ patients going back and forth in the hospital. That is a goal I emphasised with. How are you going to continue on in negligence if it has been made clear to you on numerous occasions?

I had wanted to be a doctor, if I had worked in a place like this I think I would have spat the pacifier over this even if it meant losing my job in this particular hospital. I personally believe this is a gross negligence on the part of the hospital in question. Especially after your elderly patient who came in for an unrelated operation then fell in the same corridor and shattered her hip requiring her to need another surgery.

The hospital were aware of numerous cases. Yet nothing had been done. Shut the corridor for a day or two in order to prevent the possible deaths on patients. I’m sure there is another entrance that can be used, or maybe carry the work out at night. If none of this is achievable then lay something over it that has grip. An even cheaper option would be to stop buffering the damn floor to the point it’s like an ice rink.

Shiny floors are nice right? I hear claret adds to the shine. Everything was in order, all information was gathered and when the lawyer was doubting the case from a business point of view I thought ‘No worries, I’ll explain to her myself what’s happened and then I will resource her to another firm that isn’t maned by complete pussies unwilling to take a risk for a greater good.’

That’s when the lawyer was rude to her… Now maybe it’s just me, even as a seasoned Misanthropist, I am usually never rude to old people. Manners and conduct is important to those people and this woman isn’t senile. She was able to describe her injuries to me with all the detail of a fully qualified MD. She had won my respect quite early on.

I called back after the lawyer had finished and by that point, because of his bad attitude we had lost her. She said she would call me if she decided to go ahead and I could not sway her. All because of a damn idiot with a law degree. When he rejected her case it wasn’t as a lawyer it was as a businessman. I can respect that to some degree but listen to her and don’t be rude, her next words could be the arrow you need to hit bullseye.

As far as I’m concerned we’ve lost her but I hope that she continues with another lawyer who will take a risk and will win the case for her because I don’t want to look through the paper and hear that she or someone else had died as a result of that unsafe flooring.

I was rather pissed off at that lawyer and basically I’ll bite my own tongue off before I send another client toward that firm.

-Misanthropist 

Leave a Reply

