XFM-Radio X

Maybe I’m getting old, here I am complaining about a radio station and changes made to it. Recently my favourite radio station, XFM, changed to radio X. Now, don’t mistake me for someone who generally dislikes change because that is not the case. I dislike change when it’s for the worst and ruins my favourite radio station.

It used to be the best radio station on air, to be realistic it suffered problems with repetition but the hosts in the morning were great entertainment. Weird little segments, great interaction in the form of pranking those who wake up at 7 with believably hilarious fake news stories. 

In short I’ve never laughed so much in the morning and the interactions between the hosts made it even better. It’s kind of sad to see what it has become. I’ve heard a few new tracks since the change but my main issue is that they’ve gotten in new and shitty hosts. Secondly they’ve put the best hosts on late night now.

I don’t get to laugh in the morning anymore, it was a nice way to wake up and a part of my morning routine for years. I’ll miss it a lot. I’m starting to wonder if the new incarnation of the station is an embodiment or reflection of the ‘lad culture’ I so deeply despise. 

Either way I find myself barely listening now, scrolling through the news on my phone. Trust life to go fuck up a good thing. I am displeased to say the least. I’m pretty sure radio is dead to me.

-Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

