Brace yourself, Fallout 4 is coming.

And I finally have a reason to get a next gen console…

I had been thinking of doing so for some time but I’m so far behind. I have a good twenty plus games from the last gen that I haven’t played what with my travelling and general disinterest in video games in the last five or so years. The general consensus is that I should purchase the PS4. A lot of people seem to want me to add them on PSN.

I’m in no rush, I think fallout isn’t out until November. I can wait for console prices to fall further and probably get the console with fallout 4 in some kind of package deal. More about the game. The reveal looked very typical of fallout 3. I could never decide which of the two I preferred.

I liked the atmosphere of fallout 3 but I found Vegas a lot less rigid. I think that in all I put more hours into FNV than fallout 3. I think fallout nv was just a lot more fun to screw around on. You know that you’ve put too many hours into a game when you smack a notoriously over-powered deathclaw around with a bladed gauntlet.

I did wonder about the BOS airship in the intro. Part of me really wants to be able to fly that thing. The introduction of vehicles in fallout would be an interesting mechanic even if their usage was limited in keeping with lore and the post apocalyptic setting. It would be interesting but a part of me doubts it.

We also saw dogmeat, our faithful hound. I’m kinda glad we have our dag because that animal saved my ass many times. I came to love that digital dog. I was surprised by the protagonists line or two of dialogue. It’s about time he had a voice.

I also hope they add all the little details that made Vegas such a good game. The stories, tragic suicides. The lovers whose skeletons are found in their final embrace. It was dark as hell but it set the scene. My ideal would’ve a mix of the fallout 3 atmosphere and those details from new Vegas.

I wonder if it’s smarter to wait a month or two to buy the game. I remember the glitches and all the fixes that new Vegas needed. It was a great game but buggy as hell. Probably smarter to let them work out the kinks before buying the game. 

At the moment this is the game I’m looking forward to.

-Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

