House Party.

I get invited out quite a bit by my old friends, the ones I had before I travelled and chased exotic and beautiful women. Usually I never go, after all there’s a reason I stopped talking to these people. I will say this, other than the scandal I’m aware of. I was surprised by their sudden maturity.

I was invited by my old friend who could write a children’s book with all his lies and fanciful imagery, the man can really paint a picture. Great guy, complete bullshitter. This invite was then fortified by having my other friend, whom I cannot stand to be around for long periods, invite me also.

The finally an enemy turned friend also insisted on my presence. She was the other best friend of my best friend.  Our relationship was a complicated and adversarial one up until he died. When the object of our quarrels passed away suddenly there was nothing left to fight over. We realised we both cared for the same person and formed a bond over his memory. As I mentioned. It’s complicated.

This once I decided to attend due to overwhelming demand for my appearance, that and I may have been lonely. It was a fancy dress party but honestly I don’t do that shit so I went dressed smart-casual in jeans and when questioned I replied ‘I came as a motherfucker.’ They let me in between laughing. 

If I had more notice I’d have gone in a gorilla suit incognito and just gestured my answers. But anyway I went as a motherfucker. I talked with people, drank shit beer, some gentleman jack and crappy club type shots. I also brought a blunt with me incase it was too boring. When I lit that fucker up I’m surprised I didn’t get an orderly queue in front of me.

Some other guy did. It’s like party rule 101 that there will always be cats. You know the ones who smoke but never buy?  We had a few people make an ass of themselves but to be fair he was a kid and we all make mistakes. Hangover got him in the morning. I’m glad they had the sense to not pass him on that joint.

I ended up getting pretty fucked up but I was still in control so it was quite fun. I got a lecture from that girl I spoke about previously for doing acid. Okay, calm down mom. I also had a funny moment where I was watching some girl dance and damn that ass. I’m sitting there, sipping on a glass of whiskey and having my own personal show. I was in a zone out just watching…

I go on to realising it was my friend’s girlfriend, complimented her on the dancing and rationalised to myself that it was because I’d liked her a lot when we were younger. But yeah, wouldn’t do that to a brother. And this leads me to the scandal; she cheated on him and everybody knows but nobody will tell him. He lives with snakes and doesn’t even know it.

It’s times like that I remember why I am a misanthrope and why if you want to know me you have to put in effort. If you’re not gonna put in the time you’re probably not worth my while and I’d rather skip the formalities and bullshit. People are still shit, they have just matured.

All in all it was a good night, I made some friends and got back in touch with some old ones. I also left at 5am and walked home. A few miles seems longer when you’re drunk and absolutely stoned out of your mind. I woke up the next day slightly hung over to the realisation I’m still alone and listened to some break up music, had a California hangover cure later that evening and all was well.

Oh the things I do to erase you for an evening…

-Misanthropist

Leave a Reply

