You had one job YouTube.

Recently I began thinking to myself, if only there were a way to watch my favourite things without hearing about the next Ancient Aliens special or whatever bullshit they are putting on the ad-breaks. My girlfriend watches a lot of documentary type stuff and my sister is an internet tv regular so I thought they would be the best people to ask, turns out my sister is useless if it isn’t TV programs you’re looking for and my girlfriend uses YouTube. I prefer watching factual/educational things because if I’m going to waste an hour of my life I may aswell learn something along the way.

I think it has to do with the imagery of the natural world. I find it relaxing and some of the scenery is truly beautiful, in a way I takes me to a place I’d rather be. Brazil has me craving more green space, London can be so grey and depressing at times. I eventually found myself on YouTube where I encountered a problem. YouTube seems very inconsistent at times with the odd episode of a David Attenborough series here and there. I just can’t seem to find anything I’m specifically interested in, even the Dinosaur/Paleontology thing I watched was a let-down. I’m surprised by that, I don’t remember Horizon being a cheap rip-off of Walking with plasticine. (My affectionate name for the BBC series Walking With Dinosaurs.)

I can’t seem to find any decent websites for that sort of watching, maybe I just need to look harder but thus far YouTube has been a huge let-down, either that or I’m just looking in all the wrong places. All the Attenborough series I’ve seen on there tend to be older or just the less interesting ones. I’m kinda disappointed actually… seems as if YouTube is only good for music, watching animals do stupid things and watching people hurt themselves.
-Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

