Facebook, Charity, Nominations and not giving.

I’m tired of Facebook, I really am. I’m not going to go the edgy teenager route and say I’m quitting only to return 24hrs later because what is the point. Annoying as it is Facebook is genuinely useful for communicating quickly with friends across the world. Hard to believe a Misanthrope has friends across the globe isn’t it? Anyway we’re not here to talk about myself or to debate the usefulness of Facebook, today I have a rather specific gripe. It has more to do with the idiots I know than Facebook itself…

Stop nominating me for things, I don’t care what it is. Ice bucket challenge or whatever the new fad is. I’m guessing half of those idiots don’t even know what ALS stands for. It’s nice to donate money to charity but what is it with this fetishistic posting of photographic evidence? It isn’t enough that one has donated, everyone must know about it. When I give money or food to the homeless guy near the station do we take a fucking selfie together for my friends to know about my good deed? Because what’s the point of doing good if nobody can see you doing it?

90% of the people donating are unaware of how much of their donations go to those who need them, forgetting charities have administration costs and sometimes line their own pockets in the process. Nobody is smart about this sort of thing anymore and it hurts my head to think about how stupid people can be sometimes. I’m not doing anything because somebody nominated me and I’m certainly not going to be guilted into donating what little I do have because everybody on Facebook will know if I don’t. This sort of passive-aggressive bullshit makes me hate people and feel negatively towards charitable organizations.

If I give money, I’ll do it on the street where it counts and do it wisely so my charity isn’t taken advantage of. My country has its own problems too, how about we get those homeless people off the streets and into accommodation first?
-Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

