Saudade.

br
It has occurred to me tonight how much I miss Brazil. It was a beautiful place. Sure it has its problems but the people were warm and welcoming. I miss the green spaces, happy people and how you could randomly strike up a conversation. Do that in London, see how they can’t wait to get away from you. Maybe I had the fact that I’m a gringo on my side also the English accent seems to be a universal novelty. Good thing I’m used to that by now. The social aspect of things in brazil was great, everything was so easy-going. I could strike up conversation easily and meet new people in a way that just isn’t possible in London. Even the poorest of people seemed like they had something that was missing back home. Despite their circumstances they seemed genuinely happy.

I loved how easy-going everyone was. You made an arrangement to go out at a certain time but were expected to be up to an hour late. In the event you were late nobody became needlessly pissed off about it. You would just have drinks until they got there. I also miss the ease of living, I could practically get anything delivered to the door, from fast food to cigarettes. The food was also fucking amazing, from her home cooked meals to something I got from a street vendor on a drunken night out in town. Everything was so easy. Another thing is that in London we have this problem, you can’t really go out without a plan. You can’t just hang around outside, in Brazil we could go to a beach or some other beautiful spot and even if it was just enjoy a few cans or a little smoke with friends the weather and scenery was beautiful. We just don’t have that kind of environment in London, socially and geographically speaking.

I can’t see why anyone from Brazil would want to spend an extended amount of time in London, other than the exchange value of the pound sterling. I think coming from Brazil to London would make anyone miserable. In comparison London seems dead. I had a wonderful time in there with a wonderful woman and her amazing family, maybe that’s it. I’m blinded by love or just taken by a place so warm yet so alien to me. I enjoyed America while I was there but Brazil has been a different thing entirely, more challenging for me but a lot more rewarding at the same time. Another thing is I keep drinking Cachaça. Fucking Pitu. I don’t even like it but it has become a drink of pure sentiment. Needless to say I fucking miss Brazil. I hope to see it again soon. I wasn’t even in the usual tourist spots, I’d recommend traveling outside of the usual tourist traps if you ever find yourself in Brazil. See the country outside of Rio and the south. I recommend Recife.
-Misanthropist.

2 Responses to “Saudade.”

  1. sounds like a real vacationland :3

Leave a Reply

