So Dilma won

I don’t know if that small title will mean much to you but Dilma Rousseff is in for a second term. As a gringo I knew shit all about Brazilian politics until me and my girl spoke about it. She’s very happy that Dilma won. She’s taught me an awful lot in the time we’ve known each other about society there, a little history mixed in with politics. I’ve gained an understanding of the candidates in their election. It has been interesting to learn about a culture that isn’t essentially my own. I got an entire lesson from her about all of it going back over a year. Politics and international relations is her thing.

I’ve been told that Dilma had made some mistakes and seemed to have strayed at times, that’s the nature of politicians I can’t really point fingers here. She spoke of Dilma as if she had done a lot of good and helped the people who need it most, that she had actively fought to make Brazil what it is today which is refreshing compared to Cameron and Co. Around that time I saw that Brazil had been taken off the World Hunger Map and that their economy although it had slowed is still growing. Around about the same time I heard about some oil, she joked that she wondered if the US would warm up in relations with Brazil now they’ve found oil. Brazil seems to be doing well as a whole, making progress and slowly prospering despite it’s problems.

I wish I could sit here and type all of this stuff but shit I could write a small novel. Although I wasn’t a part of it, it was entertaining to see it all unfold. The local candidates were some of the most personable individuals I’ve ever seen chatting openly and joking with constituents over twitter. There was an unfortunate plane crash where a candidate died while I was in the country. I saw some candidates making career moves it was genuinely exciting to watch it all unfold. I guess what matters now is where Brazil goes from here.

So if you’re a Dilma Rousseff Supporter congratulations.
Hopefully I can get rid of David Cameron come the next election.
-Misanthropist.

One Response to “So Dilma won”

  1. lafingman0 Says:

    I have no idea what is going on but if you are not a Dilma supporter you could always say: what a DIlma dilemma we got ourselves into!

    But it sounds like she actually does stuff (unlike most politicians) so yay! 😛

Leave a Reply

