Scottish Independence.

In a short time the Scottish people will be voting for their independence. That’s fair enough, I can see why they would want to be independent of the United Kingdom. They are under represented in parliament and some still cling onto our history in the same vein as those brits who go on about the empire we haven’t had for some time now. In our history we built a wall to keep them out and now they want out the PM wants them to stay. Funny how things change. I would say we are stronger as a United Kingdom but that’s up to the Scottish people. What really bothers me is that they’ve not really thought it through. First they wanted to hang on to our currency, of course they did. The pound sterling is one of the worlds oldest and strongest currencies. We didn’t make the same mistake as the United States by selling our gold reserves. Unfortunately for Scotland independence doesn’t work like that. Pissing and moaning about independence isn’t really valid if you want to keep our currency.

I have nothing against the Scots, I don’t even believe that one single poll on independence is an accurate representation of the opinions of the Scottish people and though it pains me to say it David ‘1984’ Cameron was correct in saying that the people shouldn’t vote yes just to give the Tories a kick in the balls. I also believe he was right in offering Scotland more powers of governance as they are not a region of England but a country as part of a union. The Scottish National Party would have the people believe that independence would be a smooth affair which is idiotic considering they wouldn’t have a currency. You could always do what Northern Ireland did with the Euro, see how that works out for you guys. The rebuttal was something to do with oil reserves off of Scotland, something about wealth from oil but seriously how long do you think that would last?

I’ve heard estimates ranging from 10-20 years and I don’t believe that’s enough time to build a strong independent nation who don’t need no England. I mean if it is what the Scottish people really want then so be it but their independence should include a good solid plan. We don’t want any drunk text messages when things go wrong in a decade’s time. Scottish independence would be a huge gamble, sure England might lose out in the short-term but if the shit hits the fan Scotland would be screwed. I’m actually annoyed by the whole thing, not Scotland wanting to be independent but how poorly planned the whole affair is on the part of the political parties pushing for a yes vote. They’re endangering the financial and economic well-being of the Scottish people whose interests are supposed to be paramount. Wait, what am I saying? We all know that’s not how politics really works…

There are other issues at play however such as families who are split between northern England and Scotland, if they were to go ahead and become independent then families would be separated. Then there’s the Scottish army regiments we would lose. I’ve met some of these people, yes I was going to join the army once. They are some of the funniest and most fearless fuckers I have ever met and it would be a shame to lose such an asset to our armed forces. I find myself hoping they don’t leave the United Kingdom but if they do it’s their choice. I hope the Scottish people won’t let the SNP fool them into thinking that independence would be smooth sailing. It won’t be.

I can’t believe I’m agreeing with David Cameron.
Gotta be better than Alex Salmond though.
God I need a drink.
-Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

