My week off/ meal with the boss.

I use the term ‘Week Off’ rather loosely, it was more like 4 days if you don’t include the day I don’t work. To provide a little background, since I got in the door I’ve worked my ass of in terms of hours. I’ve done little extras but not so much that they come to lean on me in this early stage. Our branch came first out of all others in the country and my boss was very pleased about this, so much so he offered to pay for Indian food. My friend/work colleague invited me because there was space and he didn’t want to be on his own. He’d be the only white guy there if it weren’t for me, I guess that would be strange for him and make him feel isolated so he invited me along seeing as I was covering shifts for another friend.

We were going for Indian food which I am a fan of, I enjoy spicy food and I’m all for variety. We got a ride from another colleague to a friend’s house where I threw on some clean clothes and relaxed for a while. While there I realized I had no cigarettes which is a bitch but what can you do?
From his place we were supposed to get another ride to the restaurant but my supervisor didn’t know the area and couldn’t find us or the location we were headed so we decided it’d be easier to walk for a few miles because in England we’re not afraid to walk places…
We finally got to our destination, met up with a few co workers who were surprisingly different outside of work and went into the restaurant to await the boss’ late arrival amid a false alarm at work.

It then hit me that the restaurant was vegetarian, I’m a carnivore. I need to eat meat to survive. I went in their thinking ‘crap’ but really it surpassed all expectations. Fruit Lassi is amazing. I tried some different foods, took the boss up on his spice challenge and won. All in all the food surpassed my expectations even if we did wait way too long for the food to be served. Even sitting across from my boss wasn’t bad, he is also surprisingly different and funny without the pressure of running an entire branch on his head. All in all it was a great night with no meat or alcohol involved, that’s how I had my first vegetarian meal. I’d give the food a solid 9/10. Upon leaving the restaurant my craving for nicotine kicked in which is when some of my Indian colleagues introduced me to chewing tobacco or ‘crunchy stones’ as my friend calls them.

It is definitely a habit I won’t be taking up but you get one hell of a stimulant buzz off the stuff. It tastes like death and makes your eyes redder than the devil’s dick but it works. For smokers who haven’t tried it: Remember how it feels when you smoke too much and you buzz and feel sick? It’s that buzz without feeling sick. We thanked the boss for a good night out he then told me I didn’t have to work till Saturday and we split off and went back to my friend’s place and after half hour digestion session I proceeded to walk home through an area I’d seen so many times but never really knew. I went through the park at about 11pm on a Saturday night to the sounds of teenagers getting drunk and freaking out because they saw something move past them which was me. I got home and talked to my woman, chilled and went to bed.

Now, more on the week itself. I had been going to bed in the AM on the first few days I had off Saturday and Sunday were late nights/early mornings for me. I went to bed at like 7am on Monday morning, after a few hours of sleep my friend whom I had covered for the previous week appeared out of nowhere knocking on my door for work. I was pissed beyond belief but he calmed my bitching by handing me a Monster Rehab and a cigarette. We left for work slowly and when I got there I had the guy directly above me asking me why my phone wasn’t on. I thought that it not being on would kinda indicate I’m not available. One thing I’ve noticed is that communication in my work place is abysmal if the subject is not of major importance. Either that or the guy above me is an idiot. The evidence is mounting against him as the weeks go by.

I worked that day but made sure the rest of the week was mine. I’ve spent the week playing my guitar, writing some music, visiting friends and playing Fallout 3 when bored. Its been okay but I never really got to do the thing I really wanted to do until just yesterday. Is it always like that when you’re working? You get time off but never fully achieve whatever it is you wanted to do. It was kinda annoying at first but I finally got it out-of-the-way and I feel better having done it, shame it took so damn long. The only other significant day is when I visited a friend of mine with back problems, I’m not fully aware of all of his medication but its a mix of pain relievers, muscle relaxants etc. He doesn’t have a problem or anything, he tries not to take them because they mess him up.

I spent the most part of a day there with a migraine, which is very rare for me. Anyway I asked him if he had anything and he gave me Tramadol. It’s the strangest painkiller ever. Almost like an antidepressant, it killed my headache and made me strangely euphoric and happy while I sat there in the sun and talked shit with him for hours. The next day I woke up with what could only be described as a hangover. If that is what SSRI’s feel like then I pity whomever takes them. I think I finally understand Frankie Boyle’s Tramadol Nights. I can’t imagine what that stuff is like in higher doses. I’ve heard reports of hallucinations and seeing people covered in blood. Screw that. Elephants shouldn’t take that stuff.

I’m due to go into work tomorrow and I still can’t say I’ve done everything I wanted to do. It feels too soon to be going back already. I kinda look forward to it because it breaks up the day and I’m less bored but I miss my woman a lot. I usually split my work into two separate periods of four hours or so. I get in and don’t look at the clock for a few hours, usually by the time I do its is about 12pm and I work for another two hours, take my 40 odd minutes lunch which I don’t know what to do with. I go lunch last on purpose in order to break up my afternoon, then by the time I get back its two hours more work then home. Which is nice. I enjoy being employed, I’ve worked my way around their regulations and rules to make my day shorter or seem shorter at least. My job isn’t what I wanted but the people being great and working with my friends makes it enjoyable.

The one thing that really sucks is that I haven’t received my first paycheck yet, Its coming next week so I will finally receive reward for my time and effort. That’s always nice. I kinda feel like I could have done more with this ‘week’ off.
Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

