Xbox One vs PS4

one

Is it me or was E3 surprisingly short this year? Seriously, I don’t know. It seems much shorter than last year. I’ve heard a lot of different reasons for this like Microsoft pulled funding from E3 after their console flopped. That could just be Microsoft haters hating. I don’t even know who funds E3. In fact I don’t know too much about E3. I just catch it every to see what games I can look forward too. I went through a stage of playing very few games and buying even fewer. I thought it was just me growing up and getting older but it seems it was just my slump and lack of money. With my job problem solved I’ve been replaying fallout 3. I’ve got my woman to thank for that, she reminded me how much I loved the vidya. Yup… I got a gamer. I’m lucky I’ve been told.

Lets take a little walk down memory lane right back to the Xbox, before the Xbox came out I had owned a PlayStation, PlayStation one and PlayStation 2. The Xbox looked awesome but most of all it had Halo on it, due to a summer playing that game with friends I wanted to own it. I could have brought an Xbox but around the same time I discovered a social life and other things so I never bothered, with all the issues the Xbox had I’m glad I didn’t. I waited long enough that the Xbox 360 and even longer to avoid the problems with the 360, it all paid off. To be honest I’ve been happy with my Xbox 360 experience. I’ve gone through two since about six months after it came out and I’ve played some great games on it. Never got live because I didn’t really care for paying for it. It’s kinda sad to think about this but I brought the Xbox 360 for Halo…

Enter the PS3, I should have gotten one earlier but as usual no money, waited out any issues it had and yeah never got around to it due to spending money traveling and such. I’m going to be buying one in little under a month for a few reasons. I’ve missed a whole generation of titles that I’ve always loved for example Metal Gear Solid, Kojima’s games were always masterpieces I enjoyed the depth and the story telling/cinematic were amazing. I’ve been a stealth freak since Tenchu Stealth Assassins in the 90’s. Anyway back to the point, free online because why should I have to pay for a 12-year-old homophobe to scream profanities at me and cry like a little girl when his mother/father catch him? Another great thing is Sony isn’t full of tight-fisted SOB’s who won’t let you share games, great thing about having a girlfriend who is a ps3 gamer is that she can send you a hell of a lot of games! The final thing is that most people I know moved to ps3 after owning an Xbox. Finally Battlefield>Call of duty. That is all.

I loved Halo but I think I’ve grown out of it, I didn’t even play Halo 4 and now that nobody owns and Xbox anymore I doubt I ever will. I love a lot of games on Xbox but they are available on a better console in most cases. I’m always going to go with the better choice, the one that most benefits me and the better service. The things I’ve previously mentioned plus The Xbox one’s total flop at E3 was the last nail in the coffin for me. I’m going back to Sony begging for forgiveness. Telling her I made a mistake and I can change. My friends have been recommending the ps3 to me for sometime their main reason include:

>Battlefield (read in a dey turk our jrrrbs voice, so like burrrtlefiiiilld!)
>Far less 12 year-old children.
>PlayStation Network won’t kill you for modding.
>Shared games
>Old titles I love. (soft coercion)
>Free PSN.

Those reasons were enough for me to consider it after about a year of them banging on about it. So yeah I’m purchasing a ps3. My reasoning may be cheap but the benefits outweigh the cost and any cons if there are any. Now more on E3. Sony nailed it as evidenced by amazon pre-order sales. So lets look at how the Xbox one flopped. To begin, the design of the console and control are lazy and seemed to have regressed, there’s nothing about it that impresses me if anything it’s too big. Another thing is that you cannot play games from the previous generation on it, something Sony have had down since the PlayStation 2, I don’t know if this is Microsoft trying to create an Apple style monopoly forcing you to buy more of their products for compatibility reasons. This move was widely rejected by the gaming community, I mean only one company could get away with that sort of shit, Apple. Bad move Microsoft, strike one.

You can’t share games, again Sony have nailed this one. Tell me how, in a whole console generation, Microsoft haven’t caught onto this great idea. Nobody will buy games you say? People are more likely to try and buy more games due to the limited capacity of memory and the fact that people like to own something physical. A shorter one which I don’t really think is too bad but still frowned upon is that they made their console so that it has to be connected to the internet and yet they still expect you to pay their online fee, sure they’ve added TV and such but I’d rather go watch my actual TV that I’ve already payed for. For most this feature is useless and does nothing to retract from this massive flop. Yet another massive mistake was Microsoft making you check in online once every 24 hours , what about those of us who have work and you know…lives? The more I see about the next generation of Xbox console the more I’m convinced it’s for kids. There’s also a little issue with not being able to utilize the complete memory capacity of your console. That’s sure to piss people off.

Now my final gripe, the real bullet in the back of the Xbox One is the Kinect. I always hated this thing, I’d never use one and I’ve been against this sort of thing since the WII. Even they seem to have stepped up their game while Microsoft stumbled through E3. I’ve seen my girlfriend use her Kinect but she even prefers the PS3 over the Xbox. As far as I’m aware most gamers, casual and hardcore rejected the Kinect and yet Microsoft dump more money into it and make it essential when they could have used that money for better features or whatever, just something to improve the sorry state of their new console. Over than that there’s the issue of privacy, this couldn’t have come at a worse time for Microsoft with the NSA whistle-blower and people realizing their private lives are not so private. A device you can be monitored on being on and connected to the internet at all times could be used to record you. This feature was bound to cause backlash in the first place, the whole NSA thing is just fuel on a fire.

Xbox is done for most gamers, especially adults. There are Xbox fan boys who will stay with Xbox, if you can settle for a sub-par product because of loyalty or stupidity good for you. You might say I’m fan-boying here but that’s not the case. Remember I don’t even own a PS3 yet. I will get a PS4 but I’m going to wait out any issues, plus the PS3 has enough games to keep me busy for a long time.  Talking of issues with the console Sony’s PS3 didn’t have half the issues that were faced by the Xbox due to poor quality materials and manufacture. I’m sure Xbox one owners will be enjoying their red rings for the first six months of their purchase. Another personal gripe of mine is with my favorite game/series Fallout. Fallout has its flaws, it can be a buggy game but I love it, see? I’m willing to forgive flaws and imperfections… Anyway the loading screens for Xbox are amazingly long. I recognize that Fallout is a big game but it seems the Xbox can’t handle it where I’ve seen nowhere near the same amount of problems with Xbox.

I consider this a fair review, maybe you don’t. It just seems to me that Sony is more in-tune with the demands of their user-base than Microsoft, this is evidenced by their replies to the concerns of gamers. Sony seems to care more about its customers. They’ve made their share of mistakes but they’ve always made up for them and settled them with fairness as far as I’m aware. Of the two products and services offered the PS4 and Sony in general are the best choice for someone who likes to game minus the bullshit. Microsoft needs a miracle, it’s a good thing they have the funds they do. A mistake this huge can and has put companies out of business. Hey Microsoft… do try not to turn into Apple because I still love your computers and OS.

Misanthropist.

2 Responses to “Xbox One vs PS4”

  1. Aw, this was a very nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to generate a top notch article… but what can I say… I
    procrastinate a whole lot and never seem to get nearly
    anything done.

Leave a Reply

