I finally have a job.

I finally have a job, not because of the government with their incentives and system designed to get me back into work but because of an off phone call from a friend at god knows what time in the morning. I was half asleep when I received the call at around six am. I was informed I might have a job, my friend had told a little white lie to secure me an interview. A lie about my experience that is. I must have responded ‘okay’ to this stream of information and as easy as that I was told to come in the next day for an interview.

I met my friend there the next day for my interview, from this point I knew this was going to be interesting. My interview was in a kitchen and the most informal interview I’ve ever been to. I was quickly talked too by middle management and then the boss. During this interview my friend comes out of the front, slams the door against the wall with the force of opening it and shouts ‘well you know what? You can go fuck yourself.’
The boss proceeded to laugh and tell him to get back to work and not to set a bad example for the new guy. He seemed more amused than anything else.

During the interview I was told my CV was impressive, which was nice to hear. Then he asked why I didn’t continue my studies. I told him I needed money to do anything, even study. He then proceeded to ask me why I’m applying there. Then some more general questions and he told me when I come in for a paid training day, again informal as hell…
I began today, made no errors in accuracy and generally impressed them with my ability to pick up the system they have in place, the boss was so happy with my performance he wants me in during the bank holiday, which is double pay. It’ll be my second day of work. So yeah by now I bet you’re wonder what the hell it is I do. I’ll admit it was never even considered when I thought about employment. I work in a logistics operation, which is a better way of saying I run around a large space collecting parts for orders with a bunch of crazy Spanish guys, a good friend of mine and some other guys I don’t know yet.

The general atmosphere of the place is a good one, everybody seems to get along and there’s plenty of comic relief in that place. It’s pretty fast paced work though, so I’m never going to be bored. I also have more lunch break than I know what to do with. One strange thing is that I find myself eating things I don’t normally eat because I’m so hungry. Mayo, pickle and other stuff I usually hate. I feel like I’m appreciating my food a lot more.

I’ve actually been wondering what the hell I should do with my money. It’ll certainly improve my situation and I’ll be able to buy myself things. *Must not spend money like an idiot.
I haven’t really had money to spend on anything other than essentials for a few years so this will be nice. I guess I’ll have to get a cellphone, since I’m getting one might as well go all out with an iPhone five. I’ve seen some pretty good deals. I’m curious about androids too, If I’m getting a phone it may as well be a good one. Other than that I just need some new clothes for work and then the rest is for savings/general living costs. I think I’m going to have more money than I know what to do with.

but yeah I have a job…
Misanthropist.

2 Responses to “I finally have a job.”

  1. Good for you. Looks like the “networking” thing worked out for you. I wish I had such luck. que sera sera I guess

    • All the shit they tell you about being honest with prospective employers is crap. I mean obviously you can’t tell them you have a master’s in Derpology but a little lie about experience is fine so long as you can back that lie up. Networking took a long fucking time. I’m in again tomorrow on a national holiday but the double wage is going to be nice. I think this job was very much luck of the draw. As my asshole father once said: It’s not what you know but who you know.

Leave a Reply

