Scrap Metal and Misanthropy. Selling precious and non-precious metals.

As you know I’ve been selling things because times are hard here.  The bad news is that I still haven’t sold those coins and stamps because the appraiser is away on holiday, the good news is that I’m going to Fenchurch Street in London which is home to reputable stamp and money traders who are approved and will give me the fairest prices. I may have to spend some money to get up there and sit on the tube with some sweaty, smelly, people who have no concept of manners or personal space. That with the travel fee is worth the aggravation because the potential for a reasonable to large profit is high.

This week I’ve mostly gotten rid of silver. I don’t wear gold because in my eyes it is tacky as hell, I wouldn’t be caught dead rocking a gold chain. As a misanthrope I have an inherent distrust of people in general. One group is distrust more than any other is pawnbrokers, especially cash-converters. I understand that they have to turn a profit with minimal losses but the prices they give you are poor at best. Any place that buys gold for cash, they’re all rip-offs that I have avoided. I assumed the same for silver. I took a few items around town and checked up the prices, avoiding smaller shops because I reasoned that their fees would be higher and buying prices lower. I checked anyway and I soon confirmed that this was indeed the case.

I took my silver to an independent trader who offered the best prices of all outlets, would you believe that a good portion wouldn’t even accept silver. I ended up making a good £50 on a relatively small amount of silver so that was a worthwhile trip. It also feeds me for the remainder of this week. I can’t complain at all. Going back to my distrust of these people, I always do my research and recommend that you do too. People will try to screw you over. A lot of these shops are populated by idiots who couldn’t even tell me the current price of gold/silver which is a major part of their vocation of choice. Some were being dishonest and others were just idiots. Either way it isn’t going to fill your pockets, if a trader seems even the slightest bit dodgy I suggest you trying another location.

I also sold some electronics which were barely worth anything due to their age but all together made up a tidy sum of money, I had difficulty getting rid of cameras and reasoned that their scrap value would be greater than the paupers sum that various shops offered. A day later I realized that I had a lot of scrap metal. Another great thing is that today is recycling collection meaning that I can ask the neighbors if I may take their cans for some environment related crap that I don’t give a damn about. Save the planet?
Put food on my plate and I’ll think about it. So tomorrow is a day to strip wiring, disassemble laptops, cell phones, anything with wiring or a motherboard, collect cans and other metals which I will then turn in to the local scrap yard for profit.

If people are so wasteful and don’t want to make a profit from this method why shouldn’t I capitalize on that opportunity?
It isn’t like I don’t need it, I’ll update you on the situation tomorrow after I’ve finished scrap hounding like a junkyard dog.
Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

