Our wonderful day.

I am fast becoming familiar with the American medical system. I had an instance of hemoptysis and began to worry due to being a smoker, it turned out to be nothing but it’s good to know that I’m okay. This isn’t about me, it’s about her.

My girlfriend has been having nausea for as long as I can remember, after a few years and some reasonable tests I always put it down to motion sickness. Recently she had a tonsil and adenoidectomy, which is always fun, I made sure I was there during the surgery and asking all the right questions. I was also there to get her through her first experience of a serious narcotic painkiller which was highly amusing.

After the surgery she had worse nausea and the painkiller caused all manner of constipation which was less fun. She never seemed to completely recover from the after effects of post surgical medication. Yesterday her nausea got worse than before so we took her in. After the doctor confirmed what we already knew she was sent for full blood work and an ultrasound which, as of yet, turned up nothing. Which is when she was prescribed the anti-histamine Promethazine.

Promethazine was used to treat nausea that I believe may have been related to her motion sickness. After all was done we went to eat, then I went to bed due to the fact I had been up for about 28 hours.

Later on I wake up with my girlfriend freaking out and her family trying to help. Turns out she took the Promethazine and was one of many people who have an allergic reaction. She experienced tremors, mild anaphylaxis and a panic attack. So we went back to the hospital for the second time in one day. She had a heart rate of 157 among other things. We had her admitted and she was in pretty bad shape. They gave her a flush and then some Lorazepam to calm her ass down.

Eventually after she was stabilized we took her home, I had to help her out because the lorazepam relaxed her muscles to a point where walking more than five steps was an impossibility. Once we got her in and laying down myself and her mother took shifts watching her for respiratory depression. This is my shift. She is totally fine now. Sleeping like a person on lorazepam.

I wasn’t worried, I mean, it was pretty obvious what had happened to her. We got her in and now she is fine. She’s also got a few days off which is always fun. She seems to enjoy lorazepam a little too much though. It’s pretty funny listening to her talk. Her attempts to bitch about her aunt went something like this:

‘Yeah well she’s a….person’

I think she meant Bitch. I wish I had a camera, I really do. I’m going for a cigarette now, it’s damn cold. Also, fuck you Midwest. You promised me the worst winter in 100 years.

Anyway as you can gather, my day has been fun, fun, fun.
Misanthropist.

Leave a Reply

