Finally…

Tonight I’m sitting by the TV as everyone else is passed out and just before they go to bed the news informs me that after countless years, deaths and billions Osama Bin-Laden is dead. At first I wondered to myself how he died. A bullet? A bomb? Liver failure?
One thing I can say is, it’s about fucking time. A younger me would have jumped at the chance to go to war, in fact I looked forward to it. Originally I planned to join the army, go to a military academy and then come out as an officer. With age came wisdom and with wisdom came ‘screw that.’

I was prepared to fight, kill and die. What I was not prepared for was killing, fighting and dying for oil or in a pointless war that will never end as long as people have faith and resolve in their beliefs. I said to myself that I would fight a just war but what exactly is a just war? I also saw the waste and pointless nature of warfare. That is not to say that all warfare is pointless. It is after all fighting, maiming and killing with efficiency for reasons other than survival which has defined us a species. I would fight a war, if my home and family were threatened I couldn’t care less for Queen or Country. I once read that all things are falling apart, decaying and that nothing is static. Such is the nature of life itself. Why waste it by in effect stomping over someones home as part of a manhunt that will change absolutely nothing in the long run.

So Osama Bin Laden is dead, it is not the man that endures but his ideals. Countless men have fallen, countless money has been wasted, lives changed forever on both sides all for a conflict that in the grand scheme of things will mean less than nothing. The whole news report led me to ask myself who will replace this madman. Another madder man perhaps?
I understand that nature of fighting a war, the nature of dying for your beliefs. I also understand that at the end of the day in a free society neither are necessary as long as we fight pointless wars we are destined for destruction, at the end of the day this is probably the for the best. Great tragedy has befallen the USA and UK and all over the world due to the actions of a few mad men. Maybe this entire war will serve as a lesson to us as a species, I highly doubt it.
‘An eye for an eye will make the whole world blind’
Mahatma Gandhi.

We may feel that we have exacted revenge on the mastermind of those attacks, this war is far from over however. In 50, 100 or maybe even 200 years time when I am long dead, if we have learned anything and deserve to survive we will ask ourselves was it all worth it? This whole war has shown me the black hearts of men and indeed the evils of religion. It has strengthened my resolve and belief that we would be better off without religion. The evils far outweigh the good. Religion in itself, as a concept is a good thing but we cannot trust mankind to preserve the purity in anything, mankind is forever doomed to twist and mar anything he touches. Because of this our destruction is the only solution, you cannot change the nature of the beast.

2 Responses to “Finally…”

  1. the word of me Says:

    Nail on the head…evils of religion

  2. Thanks again. I like your screen name, I’m happy you liked the post. It’s nice to have real feedback.

Leave a Reply

